2008 Sport Journalists' Association Sports Awards

Every year the Sports Journalists' Association, who the 600-plus members include sports writers, broadcasters, photographers and sub-editors, gather to honour the sports people that have made the news in the last year. The year marked the 60th Anniversary of the awards and were held at The Brewery in London.

Darren won the Bill McGowran Trophy for disabled sport, but was not the only cyclist honoured, Chris Hoy won the Sportsman Award, Great Britian Cycling won the Team Award, Rebecca Romero won the UK Sport Award and Jason Kenny won the Peter Wilson Award for international newcomer.

For more information on the Sports Journalists' Association visit their website [http://www.sportsjournalists.co.uk](http://www.sportsjournalists.co.uk)

Recent Entries

  • 40 Years Ago Today

    Today is Darren's 40th Birthday! Lets take an embarrassing look back at the years in a before they were famous kind of way. Darren -

  • Doctor Darren

    Darren Kenny is to receive an honorary doctorate from Bournemouth University during annual Award Ceremonies to be held at the BIC on Tuesday, 3 November

  • BT Paralympic World Cup 2009

    Last week Manchester Velodrome hosted the BT Paralympic World Cup Track Cycling events, previously known as the Visa Paralympics, the change of sponsor brought a

  • Laureus World Sports Awards 2009

    Darren is honoured to be nominated for the Laureus World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability for the second year running. Laureus and its


    On Friday June 26th 2009 Stuart Grace will be undertaking a marathon 72 miles of cycling and 72 holes of golf in one day in


To keep up to date with changes to the site please enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner


Sponsored Links